The League of Positive Women

Posted: October 31, 2009 in My Articles

“A guy cheated on his young and attractive wife.”

“Another guy beat and dumped his fiancé for no clear reason.”

“A talented brilliant girl cannot find a job.”

“A multi-skilled female employee is being underpaid.”

It’s the same old story every day. It’s the negative stereotypes that are making our lives a series of expected, sore, and rather boring exhibitions.

It’s the bitter face of the truth that we are publicizing on a daily basis. Yes! We are part of this unfair game because we are promoting negativity without noticing.  Instead of changing these stereotypes, we are reinforcing them to appear again and again.

When we cry and weep beside a girl whose man left her, we are weakening her instead of helping her make sense of her bad experience.

When we spread rumors and stories about unfaithful men, we are poisoning  hearts and minds around us.

When we feel jealous of young and new talented people, we unconsciously discourage them. When we mock innovative ideas just because we’re not used to them, we are suppressing creativity and change.

Negativity exists everywhere around us. That’s true, but it can be combated. It can be reduced and lightened by our positive and proactive attitudes.

I was once surrounded by negativity, but a few years ago I was destined to escape from my cocoon. It took very few people to make a change in my life. They have done three simple things to me; they believed in me, encouraged me, and empowered me. Among them is an outstanding woman, whom I like to call the Saudi Oprah (much better though); Dr. Suhair Al-Qurashi, President of Dar Al-Hekma College. Three years ago, I was just another new, simple employee in the college when Dr. Suhair noticed my existence. Since then she embarked on encouraging and helping me develop my talents and skills in every possible way. Who would ever think that the president of an enormous institution like Dar Al-Hekma would be able to see an unknown worker like myself? But she did it; she observed and concluded that I was apt to change. She led me by example and love, and she taught me so many things that I needed as an employee and as a human being, but most importantly, she taught me positivism; how to embrace it, practice it, face its challenges, and how to spread it in a society that sinks deliberately in negativity.

0022

To breathe, think, and act positively is the most difficult and important lesson that any person should learn in order to face life’s obstacles and tides. I believe that part of growing as a human and as a woman must involve meeting strong and positive people like Dr. Suhair (and I will say this even if I stop working in the college). Knowing Dr. Suhair and a few other positive amazing people happened to me by chance. I am neither a great nor a famous  figure now, but I am a better person, mother, wife, and employee who is positive, active, productive, and has an influence on people in her own small circle.

Now I  realize that God has put those people in my way, and I was grateful enough to learn from them everything God wanted me to learn.

I deeply believe that we, women, can form an informal league that works on a daily basis; a league of positive women who promote and empower each other without waiting for an official permission that might take forever to be released or for a faithful loving Mr. Right that might never show up in a fancy limo or even in a garbage truck!

Meeting constructive positive people who can help shape your future might not happen to you by coincidence, so what are you going to do? Don’t just wait for such people to come to you; go to them. Seek people who have the will and skills to empower others. Search for those who believe in your abilities and help your mentality ascend to the world of positive doers, not passive takers and destructive breakers.

Comments
  1. Qusay says:

    Yearly evaluations coming up? I hope you get a nice raise 🙂

    o.k., joking aside… good job on trying to highlight the positives in you, around you, and in people in your circle.

    There is so much negative in this world, and the bad news sells more than the good, so economically it is the way to go if that is how you would make a living.

    • مها نور إلهي says:

      Thanks Qusay.
      And no thanks…I don’t want to make a living at the expense of making the world a worse place 😉

  2. Salma says:

    This is a great great story sis, mashaalah. I am need of someone like this in my life right now.

    I like the fact that you say we should empower each other without waiting for permission, this is really core to moving ahead…you’re right.

    • مها نور إلهي says:

      Thank you so much Salma and if you keep searching you will find a positiv person who empowers you.
      Glad that you liked the post.

  3. ADNISA says:

    Interesting it is. The discrimination is not only against Saudi women but also against foreign male workers who are paid even less than Saudi women.

    This is a common problem not only in Saudi Arabia but the arab world in general. The roots can be traced to the times before arabs came to Islam. Many things changed from their lifestyle after embracing Islam but a few didn’t. Let hope things change soon.

    Read more about Suhair Qureshi on http://adnisa.wordpress.com/2009/10/15/prominent-saudi-women-suhair-al-qureshi/

  4. مها نور إلهي says:

    Thank you ADNISA for your comment.

Leave a Reply

